A circle of care

Circle of supportOn the eve of the first strike in 40 years by England’s junior doctor, I wanted to recount a very recent experience of the NHS.

Readers of this blog may remember that 13 months ago I shared my frustration with getting a hospital appointment in connection with prostate problems. The problems continue and yesterday – a Sunday evening – I arrived in A&E [Accident and Emergencies] at the same hospital in considerable discomfort. It was not an emergency, but my bladder thought differently.

I was greeted (yes, I do mean greeted) by a plain-clothed doctor who asked about my problem and even managed a joke “You don’t look old enough to have prostate problems!” Three hours later that same doctor helped me find my car (I’d parked in a hurry, taken a circuitous route through the hospital to get to A&E and, anyway, I had other things on my mind …)

The doctor handed me over to a colleague to get me booked in and I was given a wristband in case I got lost or the hospital confused me with a similarly young-looking 60-year-old. Over the following three hours, I was seen by ten health professionals in what, apart from one small hiccup, felt like a highly co-ordinated routine. All staff were consistently professional, communicative and, above all, caring. Remember this was a Sunday evening – the end of a weekend at a time which covered a shift change – with more urgent cases to be seen (including a younger man who’d overdosed and an older man who’d had a fall)

It confirmed what I already knew – NHS care is already 7 days a week; it has to be. I left A&E much-relieved (pun intended) that we have the health care system we do and so grateful to the dedicated professionals taking care of us. Thank you Addenbrooke’s Hospital.

Leave a Reply

